Indian squad for Australian tour: Rohit out, Rahul and Siraj to play test

Indian squad for Australian tour: Rohit out, Rahul and Siraj to play test

Michael (The Jaihind Express Web Desk)

BCCI named the squads for four Tests, three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) on the November 27-January 19 tour. Rohit Sharma, captian of MI has been ruled out due to harmstring injury. There are chances he might the miss the remaining tournament as well.

“The BCCI medical team will continue to monitor the progress of Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma,” the BCCI said in a media release. Pace spearhead Ishant returned home from the IPL after getting injured during the league stage of the tournament.

Hardik Pandya, who hasn’t played for India since September 22 last year, has been picked for the ODIs and T20Is. The all-rounder had been named in the squad for the home ODI series against South Africa in March that was called off because of growing concerns over Covid-19.

The selection panel, led by former India spinner Sunil Joshi, also picked Varun Chakravarthy for the ODIs, who captured his first five-wicket haul of the tournament in IPL. In fact, he is the only uncapped cricketer to have been selected across three squads.

Besides 28 cricketers who will feature in the three squads combined, the selection committee has named pacers Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T. Natarajan who will travel as back-up.

According to the provisional schedule that Cricket Australia shared with the BCCI last week, the tour will start with ODIs on November 27, while the last of the four Tests will begin in Brisbane from January 15. However, the BCCI is yet to formally accept it since both the boards have been in discussion over th Indian cricketers’ families accompanying them.

Here's the squad for the tour:
Test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar, Ajinkya(vc), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vc & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Shikhar, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vc & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

With input from agencies